“Do one thing everyday that scares you”

Eleanor Roosevelt said these famous words: Do one thing everyday that scares you.

Well, for the past 2 months I’ve been taking that advice to heart: Getting married, driving across the country, moving to a brand new city and in with my new husband for the first time, getting used to new city, finding a new job.

I just said the word new a lot back there, and with a lot of new, usually means that there is a lot of change as well. I didn’t really anticipate the amount of emotional energy that all this change was going to  take on me and on those I love. It’s like deciding to get on a roller coaster. You see it from a distance and it all makes sense, the hills and the loops. But actually taking off is a whole other experience that you can’t even imagine when you’re standing on the ground.  I planned and anticipated what is was going to be like, the wedding and the move. But actually doing it all was a whole other thing!

I’ve started this blog so that over time I can share my thoughts, reflections, and experiences. It has been the adventure of a lifetime and I want to tell you all about it. I know the title is deceiving since it won’t be all about yoga…well sort of. The definition of yoga is actually to yoke together. In the practice of yoga, it is the yoking together of the body with the breath. I hope to use this blog as a platform to yoke together my thoughts on life, love, adventure, change, work…and find balance in it all. Yoga is a practice, not perfection. And as a self-proclaimed perfectionist, I struggle with that sometimes. The same can be said about life. It is a practice. Not perfection. So here we go…

All my love, L

Leave a Reply

