“Walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light”

Moving to a brand new place where you know hardly anyone is a humbling and enlightening experience. I have been so blessed my whole life to be surrounded by an abundance of family and friends who have always been there for me no matter what. Now this is still true, I have not actually lost these valued family members and friends. The difference now is that we are separated by many provinces and time zones. It makes me realize how much I had relied on the knowledge that the people I love were just a short drive or subway ride away. Perhaps I have taken my loved ones for granted over the years, not really knowing how much I have needed my community until they were no longer as accessible. Thank goodness for technology! I have been glued to my phone, texting and calling in order to stay connected and updated on all the happenings back home.

One of the first things I did once I got to BC was join a yoga community, and almost immediately started to work and practice at the local studio. I could have just as easily busted out one of my many yoga DVDs and simply holed up at home on my mat. However, I never get the same experience at home as when I’m in a class where I can feel and use the energy from all the other yogis around me. There’s a component of accountability, encouragement, and motivation that comes from practicing with others. The same is true outside the studio as well, life becomes so much more meaningful when there are others around to share our everyday experiences with. The quote above by Helen Keller says it all, I would much rather walk with a friend in the dark than on my own in the light. Thank you to all my family and friends who continue to walk alongside me, even from 4,000 km away. I love you.

One comment

  1. Tasha · March 2, 2015

    Girl, I have been reading several of your posts and I love them!!! You are such a beautiful person inside and out! Keep blessing others by sharing your gift of writing and encouragement! ❤ xoxo Tasha

    Like

Leave a Reply

