Eat. Panic. Repeat.

The truth is that our finest moments are most likely to occur when we are feeling deeply uncomfortable, unhappy, or unfulfilled. For it is only in such moments, propelled by our discomfort, that we are likely to step out of our ruts and start searching for different ways or truer answers. – M. Scott Peck

In my teens and early twenties, I was involved in a very unhealthy relationship, one that caused me debilitating anxiety and fear… It was my relationship with food. In order ease anxiety I would tightly control what I ate and when I ate it. The act of eating was no longer about what my body needed, but rather was based on the state of my anxious mind. This created a very unhealthy disconnect between my mind and body. I was desperate to heal and attended yoga classes everyday in search of release from the chains of anxiety. However, the more I pushed myself to heal, the more anxious I became, and the more I controlled what I consumed. The negative intention I brought toward the yoga was pushing me farther down into despair.

As I’ve gotten older, I am proud to say that I have developed a healthy relationship with food and more importantly, with myself. There was no magic answer to finding healing but rather developed slowly as I set a daily intention to be present, and to be honest it is still an ongoing journey. Every day I have the choice to honour my mind, body, and soul, or to judge, criticize and undermine myself. Taking time to slow down and focus on my inner truth helps to drown out all the noise of the external world that tells me over and over that I am not good enough. My place is in the hot room, where the yoga brings me peace in the present moment, exactly as I am.

It is not easy to share this part of my past, however I believe that there is great power in telling our stories. There would be no stigma if I were to write about a physical ailment. I hope that one day the same can be true for mental illness. Here is my truth, one I am proud to share: Today I can eat to nourish and honour my body. Today I eat with gratitude in celebration of life.

Photo courtesy of  Iron & Bragg Photography

http://www.ironbragg.com/

Leave a Reply

