Time Out.

It has been a few months since the last time I sat down to write.  Between working, volunteering, building friendships and a brand new life, as well as spending time with my new husband of less than a year, I often fall into bed at the end of the day without rolling out my mat or even taking a minute for myself.

Now don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining about any of the above, I feel very blessed for all that I have been able to do and experience since arriving on the west coast… I only wish there were more hours in the day so I could fit it all in without feeling stretched so thin.

As I settle into an evening of yoga, quiet time, and a delicious glass of wine, I realize how simple it is to rejuvenate but am disappointed by how irregularly I have been prioritizing this time. Maybe my tendency to get caught up in the busyness of the day-to-day comes from missing my old life back east, or perhaps it comes from wanting to please others by not saying “no.” Regardless, if I am truly going to enjoy this life and all the blessings it entails, I need to carve out time in order to be present and truly grateful for it.

Writer Lysa Terkeurst says that “Today’s choices become tomorrow’s circumstances.” And so I ask, if we don’t choose to care for ourselves today, how are we going to keep up with tomorrow? Or next month? Or next year? It can be as simple as a mindful breath, as long as we choose the moment with intention to rejuvenate and regain our capacity to live to the fullest.

Blessings and Namaste.

Leave a Reply

